WHO AM I? part 2

who am iFrom prior post… “The titles of the world are temporary and ultimately do not define who we are.”

This realization came at a critical time in my life.  I was in the midst of a divorce, something I had never contemplated as even being possible, something I had no desire for, and yet something I could not stop.  My wife chose to end our marriage for the sake of another man.

The majority of my life my identity was strongly based on my role as a husband.  Now that this identity was gone, I was struggling to understand who I was.  Redefining identity after a loss is a process, one I am continuing through to this day.  About a month ago these words, spoken by a gentlemen I had never met before, had a profound impact on me.  It’s a simple concept, but one we all too often forgotten until we are faced with a crisis.

“Who am I”?  We ought not to look to this world for the answer.  Better yet, restate the question…. “Who am I, in Christ?”

The answers to this question are something many of us know, but rarely take to heart or make a true focus of our thinking. Unlike the answers we get from this world, who we are in Christ cannot be taken away.  We are children of the most high, sons & daughters of the one true king, the sheep of His hand which no one can snatch away…

2 Corinthians 6:18 English Standard Version (ESV)

18 and I will be a father to you,
    and you shall be sons and daughters to me,
says the Lord Almighty.”

John 10:28-30 New International Version (NIV)

28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all[a]; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.”

Matthew 5:14-16 New International Version (NIV)

14 “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

The references to our role as Children of God are numerous.  If we commit to our identity in Christ, it can reshape how we think about ourselves.  It can change our attitude, our heart, and nearly every other aspect of our lives.  Our Father in Heaven never changes… His role as Father will never be shaken.  If that cannot be changed, then our role as his child cannot be altered either.

This is our true identity.

The next time you are introduced to someone I challenge you to not ask them what they do…. but rather, “Who Are You?”

Thanks for reading….signed…. a Child of the One True King

Leave a Reply

